Tuesday, February 13, 2007
Trapped at the Tire Store
Something i thought of while trying to get from Ocala to Marco last Thursday. When we TRIED to leave after breakfast my SMART truck told me that my tire pressure was low. Gavin told me to go to the Tire Store to get it checked out. Well, two new tires, 12 new lugnuts, a large charge on my credit card and 2 hours later (after sitting in the waiting room with 3 kids and nextdoor to Dunkin' Donguts i might add) i was finally on the road. During the wait, i realized that essentially i was trapped at that tire store. I did try to walk s0mewhere with the kids, but route 200 is like the indy racetrack and the only place to go was cracker barrel (we played checkers on the front porch and played with the toys in the lobby) or the Best Western (and boy was i ready for a nap at that point). So anyway, it occurred to me that without my carseats, i couldn't even have gavin come and pick us up! Doesn't that just seem wrong??? I guess in NY cabs you don't have to use carseats?? Isn't that illegal or something? So needless to say i was totally ready to get out of there by 1:15 when they released us...and that is really how i felt because the owner of the store was the grim reaper of the automotive industry. "you really need to have your wheels aligned or you might drive right off the road and to your death!" Being a woman at any kind of car dealership or repair place is annoying! So thankfully, after trying to get out of Ocala at 10 we made it to marco island around 6:30. what a long day!! but i have to say, i'm getting to be a pro at this.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Wow, it doesn't sound like this trip has been much fun......
Kathi
We are back from Roanoke and the SECOND funeral. It was nice to see the family, but I am glad it is all over with. I will have to tell you about all the problems having DD cremated. What a mess. NY was great! Kevin and I almost backed out with so much going on but I am glad we went. Two ladies from Centerville came to the Roanoke funeral! I was shocked! Mrs. Tolbert and Sara. Guess things are getting back to normal. Mom is doing a lot better than I thought she would. (tell you about it all when I see you if mom is not there) Mom doesn't want to stay at home so Dad and I have been keeping her busy. That's not what I expected. She did really well at the Roanoke funeral too. I just still can't believe it. I am so glad you got to see her, I wish Brad could have made it, he and Andria were supposed to come this weekend. Now it looks like they will come the first of March I guess. Well I guess I will be talking to you. Have a good day tomorrow. Back away from the McDonalds! LOL Kathi
Post a Comment